Daily Trivia – 3/19/12

Question: Who scrawled the best-selling cartoon collection Night of the Crash-Test Dummies?

Last Question: What did Paul McCartney title his album of oldies released exclusively in the Soviet Union in 1988?

Answer: Back in the U.S.S.R.

Back in the U.S.S.R. (Снова в СССР) was taken from The Beatles’ song of the same name from 1968’s White Album.

In July 1987, McCartney decided to get back to his roots by singing some of his favorite hits from the 1950s and over the course of two days (July 20-21), with three session musicians, he recorded twenty-two songs. Of those songs, 11 were chosen for the albums initial release in the Soviet Union on October 31, 1988. In December, the album was re-released in December with 2 additional songs – “I’m Gonna Be a Wheel Someday” and “Summertime”.

McCartney intended Back in the U.S.S.R. as a present for Soviet fans who were generally unable to obtain his legitimate recordings, often having to make do with copies; they would, for a change, have an album that people in other countries would be unable to obtain. Accordingly, McCartney never intended the album to be sold outside the USSR, and mirroring the situation as it had been within the Soviet Union, it was a popular import or bootleg album in other countries. Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, Back in the U.S.S.R. was given a worldwide release in 1991. This latest release added one more song – “I’m in Love Again” – making it a total of 14 songs.

1. “Kansas City”
2. “Twenty Flight Rock”
3. “Lawdy, Miss Clawdy”
4. “I’m in Love Again” (Bonus track on 1991 international release)
5. “Bring It On Home to Me”
6. “Lucille”
7. “Don’t Get Around Much Anymore”
8. “I’m Gonna Be a Wheel Someday”
9. “That’s All Right Mama”
10. “Summertime”
11. “Ain’t That a Shame”
12. “Crackin’ Up”
13. “Just Because”
14. “Midnight Special”

[twitter-follow screen_name=’returntothe80s’ show_count=’yes’ text_color=’00ccff’]

Leave a Reply